Monthly Archives: Νοέμβριος 2011


Label: DECCA
Format: MP3@320Kbps
Sound Quality: FULL
Type: CDSize: 139,62/143,81 MB

Total Time: 155:01 min
Release Date: 2001

Movie Adagios is a two-CD set from the New Classical 96.3 FM that brings together some of the famous classical melodies borrowed to great effect in movies from the Silver Screen days of yesteryear to the big-screen epics of today. From Clair de Lune by Debussy to the Mozart piano concerto made famous in the film Elvira Madigan, this set is sure to delight classical music lovers and film buffs alike.


Disc 1

1 String Quartet N1 Op11 Ad – Baltimore Symphony

2 Piano Concerto N21 Andant – English Chamber Orchestra

3 Gianni Schicchi O Mio – Renata Tebaldi

4 Warsaw Concerto – Christina Ortiz

5 Dances With Wolves – Hollywood Bowl Orchestra

6 Cavalleria Rusticana – National Philharmonic Orchestra

7 Piano Concerto Op18 N2 – Cleveland Orchestra

8 Gabriel’s Oboe – Prague Philharmonic

9 Heart Asks Pleasure First – Jean-Yves Thibaudet

10 Gadfly The Op97 Romance – Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

11 Serenade N10 Adagio – Academy of St. Martin in the Fields

12 Cosi Fan Tutte Soave Sia – Lucia Popp

13 La Wally Ebben Ne Andro – London Philharmonic Orchestra

14 Piano Concerto Largo N5 – Chamber Orchestra of Europe

15 Piano Sonata Op27 Moonlig – Vladimir Ashkenazy

16 String Quintet Op163 Adag – Weller Quartet

Disc 2

1 Requiem D Lacrimosa – BBC Symphony Orchestra

2 Swan Lake Op20 Scene – Orchestre Symphonique de Montreal

3 Les Contes D Hoffman Entr – L’Orchestra de la Suisse Romande

4 Piano Concerto Op73 Adagi – Vladimir Ashkenazy

5 Cello Concerto Op85 Adagi – Julian Lloyd Webber

6 Clarinet Concerto Ad – London Symphony Orchestra

7 Concerto For 2 Largo Ma N – Henryk Szeryng

8 Clair De Lune – Frederick Fennell

9 Nuovo Cinema Paradiso – Prague Philharmonic

10 Symphony N5 Adagietto – Chicago Symphony Orchestra

11 Orchestral N3 D 2 Air On – Stuttgarter Kammerorchester

12 Le Nozze Di Figaro Che So – Lucia Popp

13 Madama Butterfly Un Bel – London Philharmonic

14 Canon And Gigue In D Cano – Stuttgarter Kammerorchester

15 Sonata For Cello Adagio – Janos Starker

16 Prelude N1 C Op3 N2 – Vladimir Ashkenazy

17 We Have All The Time Of – Prague Philharmonic

This double CD comprises classical source music featured in many well-known and memorable films. Amongst the thirty-three pieces of music, are some very well known tunes, such as the Andante from Mozart Piano Concerto No.21 as featured in Elvira Madigan, Pachelbel’s Canon in D Major from Ordinary People, and the Air from Bach’s Suite No. 3 from the film Seven
My personal favourite was Puccini’s ‘O mio babbino caro’ from his opera Gianni Schicchi from the film ‘A Room with a View’. This piece conjures up romantic pictures of Florence in your mind. It also makes you think of the sultry hot days of summer. I remember that sensational scene in the film when Helena Bonham-Carter has the kiss with Julian Sands in the countryside. For that scene another Puccini aria was used, from his opera, La Rondine so very effectively. Alas that aria is not included in this compilation. I also liked John Barry’s John Dunbar theme from the film Dances with Wolves starring Kevin Costner. The music reminds you of the epic film in which man comes to one with nature and animals.
Not being a classical music lover, some of the pieces I did find a bit heavy, although, generally, I liked both CDs – especially CD 1. On CD 2, I enjoyed the Tchaikovsky Swan Lake music from the film Billy Elliot used in the scene at the end of the film in which Billy dances the lead part and his father watches him proudly. I also enjoyed the extremely difficult and amazing Rachmaninov Prelude in C sharp minor from Shine and the Offenbach’s Barcarolle from Life is Beautiful.
Altogether, this double CD was pleasurable to listen to and a nostalgic reminder of the many films featured in it.

Louise Clark

Audiophile Bossa Voices II – 15 Brazilian Love Tracks

Album: Audiophile Bossa Voices II
Label: Premium Records
Format: FLAC
Sound Quality: 24bit/192 Khz Remastering
Type: CDSize: 351 MB
Total Time: 57:46 min
Release Date: 2006
Genre:  Jazz / Vocal / Bossa / Latin
Track Listing & Artists:
 01. Samba De Verao – Ramon Leal & Beatrice Binotti
 02. Don’t Know Why – Romero & Pamela
 03. Samba De Bencao – Bebel Giberto
 04. Tristeza De Amar – Carol Saboya
 05. Blue Bossa – Ana Caram
 06. Nem Eu – Adriana Maciel
 07. We’ve Only Just Begun – Cris Delanno
 08. Garota De Ipanema – Rossa Passos & Ron Carter
 09. Amanda – Carol Saboya
 10. Wave – Roseanna Vitro
 11. Samba Saravah – Karrin Allyson
 12. Embraceable You – Maria Augusta
 13. Love Is Here To Stay – Gabeiela Anders
 14. Me Liga – Cris Delanno
 15. Love Dance – Marcela

Premium Records proudly presents Audiophile Boss Voices Volume 2 which contains 15 Brazilian love tracks by vocalists famous for their music. Included are Ana Caram, Rossa Passos, Karrin Allyson, Marcela and more!

Paco De Lucía – Plays Manuel De Falla

Artist: Paco De Lucía
Album: Paco De Lucía – Plays Manuel De Falla
Label: Philips
Format: MP3@320 kbps
Sound Quality: FULL
Size: 68.46 MB
Type: CD
Country: Spain
Release Date: 1978
Genre: Flamenco
01 Danza De Los Vecinos     3:09
02 Danza Ritual Del Fuego     4:24
03 Itroduccion Y Pantomima     2:59
04 El Pano Moruno         1:27
05 Danzo Del Molinero         3:04
06 Danza             3:24
07 Escena             1:25
08 Cancion Del Fuego Fatuo     4:05
09 Danza Del Terror         1:48
10 Danza De La Molinera     4:01
Arranged And Adapted By Paco De Lucia
Guitar – Paco De Lucía
This review is from: Paco de Lucia plays Manuel de Falla (Audio CD)
There’s a sense of urgency throughout this album that makes it one of De Lucia’s most exhilerating. The effect is achieved by the deft use of percusion and electric bass as well as the intriguing yet cohesive blend of classical and flamenco schools. The music straddles both worlds, giving the songs more suggestiveness and freeedom while at the same time retaining a strong sense of form. De Falla’s compositions are tight and fast yet grandiose and ambitious. It’s music full of punch and a showcase of sheer relentless inventiveness. Add to this De Lucia’s furious playing and one has a hybrid whose influences may be self-evident but whose effect is stunning, to say the least. There’s a definite modern sound to this album, although the arrangements themselves are sparse, that gives it a dynamism seldom found in other De Lucia works.