Label: DECCA
Format: MP3@320Kbps
Sound Quality: FULL
Type: CDSize: 139,62/143,81 MB

Total Time: 155:01 min
Release Date: 2001

Movie Adagios is a two-CD set from the New Classical 96.3 FM that brings together some of the famous classical melodies borrowed to great effect in movies from the Silver Screen days of yesteryear to the big-screen epics of today. From Clair de Lune by Debussy to the Mozart piano concerto made famous in the film Elvira Madigan, this set is sure to delight classical music lovers and film buffs alike.


Disc 1

1 String Quartet N1 Op11 Ad – Baltimore Symphony

2 Piano Concerto N21 Andant – English Chamber Orchestra

3 Gianni Schicchi O Mio – Renata Tebaldi

4 Warsaw Concerto – Christina Ortiz

5 Dances With Wolves – Hollywood Bowl Orchestra

6 Cavalleria Rusticana – National Philharmonic Orchestra

7 Piano Concerto Op18 N2 – Cleveland Orchestra

8 Gabriel’s Oboe – Prague Philharmonic

9 Heart Asks Pleasure First – Jean-Yves Thibaudet

10 Gadfly The Op97 Romance – Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

11 Serenade N10 Adagio – Academy of St. Martin in the Fields

12 Cosi Fan Tutte Soave Sia – Lucia Popp

13 La Wally Ebben Ne Andro – London Philharmonic Orchestra

14 Piano Concerto Largo N5 – Chamber Orchestra of Europe

15 Piano Sonata Op27 Moonlig – Vladimir Ashkenazy

16 String Quintet Op163 Adag – Weller Quartet

Disc 2

1 Requiem D Lacrimosa – BBC Symphony Orchestra

2 Swan Lake Op20 Scene – Orchestre Symphonique de Montreal

3 Les Contes D Hoffman Entr – L’Orchestra de la Suisse Romande

4 Piano Concerto Op73 Adagi – Vladimir Ashkenazy

5 Cello Concerto Op85 Adagi – Julian Lloyd Webber

6 Clarinet Concerto Ad – London Symphony Orchestra

7 Concerto For 2 Largo Ma N – Henryk Szeryng

8 Clair De Lune – Frederick Fennell

9 Nuovo Cinema Paradiso – Prague Philharmonic

10 Symphony N5 Adagietto – Chicago Symphony Orchestra

11 Orchestral N3 D 2 Air On – Stuttgarter Kammerorchester

12 Le Nozze Di Figaro Che So – Lucia Popp

13 Madama Butterfly Un Bel – London Philharmonic

14 Canon And Gigue In D Cano – Stuttgarter Kammerorchester

15 Sonata For Cello Adagio – Janos Starker

16 Prelude N1 C Op3 N2 – Vladimir Ashkenazy

17 We Have All The Time Of – Prague Philharmonic

This double CD comprises classical source music featured in many well-known and memorable films. Amongst the thirty-three pieces of music, are some very well known tunes, such as the Andante from Mozart Piano Concerto No.21 as featured in Elvira Madigan, Pachelbel’s Canon in D Major from Ordinary People, and the Air from Bach’s Suite No. 3 from the film Seven
My personal favourite was Puccini’s ‘O mio babbino caro’ from his opera Gianni Schicchi from the film ‘A Room with a View’. This piece conjures up romantic pictures of Florence in your mind. It also makes you think of the sultry hot days of summer. I remember that sensational scene in the film when Helena Bonham-Carter has the kiss with Julian Sands in the countryside. For that scene another Puccini aria was used, from his opera, La Rondine so very effectively. Alas that aria is not included in this compilation. I also liked John Barry’s John Dunbar theme from the film Dances with Wolves starring Kevin Costner. The music reminds you of the epic film in which man comes to one with nature and animals.
Not being a classical music lover, some of the pieces I did find a bit heavy, although, generally, I liked both CDs – especially CD 1. On CD 2, I enjoyed the Tchaikovsky Swan Lake music from the film Billy Elliot used in the scene at the end of the film in which Billy dances the lead part and his father watches him proudly. I also enjoyed the extremely difficult and amazing Rachmaninov Prelude in C sharp minor from Shine and the Offenbach’s Barcarolle from Life is Beautiful.
Altogether, this double CD was pleasurable to listen to and a nostalgic reminder of the many films featured in it.

Louise Clark

Posted on 15 Νοεμβρίου, 2011, in CLASSIC, FILM MUSIC, Αταξινόμητα, MOVIE THEMES, Soundtrack, Various Artists. Bookmark the permalink. 1 σχόλιο.


Εισάγετε τα παρακάτω στοιχεία ή επιλέξτε ένα εικονίδιο για να συνδεθείτε:


Σχολιάζετε χρησιμοποιώντας τον λογαριασμό Αποσύνδεση /  Αλλαγή )

Φωτογραφία Google

Σχολιάζετε χρησιμοποιώντας τον λογαριασμό Google. Αποσύνδεση /  Αλλαγή )

Φωτογραφία Twitter

Σχολιάζετε χρησιμοποιώντας τον λογαριασμό Twitter. Αποσύνδεση /  Αλλαγή )

Φωτογραφία Facebook

Σχολιάζετε χρησιμοποιώντας τον λογαριασμό Facebook. Αποσύνδεση /  Αλλαγή )

Σύνδεση με %s

Αρέσει σε %d bloggers: