Category Archives: MUSICAL

Chicago Soundtrack CD

Audio CD  (January 14, 2003)
Original Release Date : January 24, 2003
Number of Discs: 1
Genre: Musical , Soundtrack
Format: CD
Sound Quality: LOSSLESS / FULL
Format: FLAC / mp3_256Kbps
Label: Sony
CHICAGO won the 2004 Grammy Award for Best Compilation Soundtrack For A Motion Picture, Television Or Media. «I Move On» was nominated for Best Song Written For A Motion Picture, Television Or Other Visual Media.
This is a multi-channel Super Audio CD playable only on Super Audio CD players.
CHICAGO has a long and varied history; it began life in the ’20s as a play about a showgirl named Roxie Hart, the character whose name was used as the title for a ’40s movie inspired by the show. In the ’70s, Broadway composers Kander and Ebb (CABARET, NEW YORK, NEW YORK) wrote the songs for a musical version focusing on the ’20s-jazz angle and capitalizing on the murder-and-sex theme, and Bob Fosse fleshed the whole thing out to great success. The late-’90s Broadway revival of the show was even more successful and gave rise to a film version featuring Richard Gere, Renee Zellweger, and Catherine Zeta-Jones, movie stars not known for singing.
The film turned out to be a huge hit, and the actors handle their vocal chores admirably, as borne out on this soundtrack disc. Zeta-Jones and Zellweger handle their respective roles of vamp and showgirl well. While Gere wi
Music and lyrics written by John Kander and Fred Ebb.
Original score composed by Danny Elfman.
Includes liner notes by Kander & Ebb.

Track Listings
01. Overture/And All That Jazz – Catherine Zeta-Jones/Renee Zellweger/Taye Diggs (6:04)
02. Funny Honey – Renee Zellweger/John C. Reilly/Colm Feore/Taye Diggs (3:39)
03. When You’re Good to Mama – Queen Latifah/Taye Diggs (3:19)
04. Cell Block Tango – Catherine Zeta-Jones/Susan Misner/Deidre Goodwin/Denise Faye (7:22)
05. All I Care About – Richard Gere/Taye Diggs (3:48)
06. We Both Reached for the Gun – Richard Gere/Christine Baranski/Cleve Asbury/Shaun Amyot (3:59)
07. Roxie – Renee Zellweger (3:22)
08. I Can’t Do It Alone – Catherine Zeta-Jones/Taye Diggs (3:51)
09. Mister Cellophane – John C. Reilly (3:57)
10. Razzle Dazzle – Richard Gere (3:47)
11. Class – Zeta-Jones/Queen Latifah (2:54)
12. Nowadays (Roxie) – Renee Zellweger/Taye Diggs (2:14)
13. Nowadays/Hot Honey Rag Medley Title – Renee Zellweger/Catherine Zeta-Jones/Taye Diggs (3:28)
14. I Move On – Catherine Zeta-Jones/Renee Zellweger (4:00)
15. After Midnight – written by Danny Elfman (3:24)

Personnel: Damon Sharpe, Greg Laswon (vocals, background vocals); Dana Calitri, Curtis King, Singleton Palmer Band, Darren Lee, Dennis Collins, Joe Pizzi, Ekaterina Chtchelkanova, Nick Richards, Charles King , Eric Troyer, Harrison Beal, Billy Hartung, Melanie Gage, Tata Nicole, Timothy Shew, Edgar Godineaux, Fonzi Thornton, Shaun Amyot, Susan Misner, Deidre Goodwin, Jeff Siebert, Michael Johnston , Rick Negron, Jocelyn Dowling, Roxane Barlow, Robert Montano, Mary Ann Lamb, Deanie Richardson & Second Fiddle, Cynthia Onrubia, Willy Falk, Denise Faye, Cleve Asbury, Mark Harrison, Margaret Dorn, Sara Ramírez, Audrey Martells, Darius de Haas, Scott Fowler, Capathia Jenkins, Laura Dean (vocals); Jamie Talbot, Stan Sulzmann (alto, clarinet, reeds, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Mitch Dalton (guitar, banjo); Eric Kupper (guitar, keyboards); Jack Cavari (guitar); Freddie Green (banjo); Chris Garrick, Laura Seaton (violin); Alan Barnes, Ray Swinfield (clarinet, bass clarinet, reeds, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Lawrence Feldman (soprano saxophone); Lou Marini (alto saxophone); Chuck Wilson (tenor saxophone); Brian O’Flaherty, Tony Kadleck, Derek Watkins (trumpet); Pete Beachill (trombone, tenor trombone); Keith O’Quinn, Larry Farrell (trombone); Nathan Durham, Owen Slade (tuba); David Hartley, John Saver (piano); Paul Morgan (double bass); Perry J. Cavari (drums); Jim Saporito, Gary Kettel (percussion); Richie Jones (drum programming); Nicki Richards, Paulette McWilliams (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Dan Hetzel; Dennis Sands; Richie Jones; Thomas R. Yezzi.
Recording information: Air Studios, London, England; Avatar Studios, New York, NY; Cove City Sound Studio, L. I., NY; Hensen Recording Studios, Los Angeles, CA; Meatlworks Studio, Toronto, Ontario, Canada; Paramount Stage M; Right Track Recording, Bucharest, Romania; Sony Music Studios, New York, NY; Warner Bros. Eastwood Scoring Stage, CA.
Director: Rob Marshall .
Editors: Ellen Segal; Martin Welsh.
Photographer: David James.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Ekaterina Chtchelkanova; Mya Harrison; Susan Misner; Deidre Goodwin.
Arrangers: Paul Bogaev; Rick Wake; Richie Jones; Douglas Besterman.
Score: D.Elfman + Anastasia/ Queen Latifah/Mya/Taye Diggs +


Audio CD (April 25, 2000)
Original Release Date : 1979
Number of Discs: 1
Genre: Musical , Soundtrack
Format: CD
Sound Quality: LOSSLESS / FULL
Format: FLAC / mp3_256Kbps
Label: Universal Int’l

Track List
01. Main Title (Instrumental) – Ralph Burns
02. On Broadway – George Benson
03. Michelle (Instrumental) – Ralph Burns
04. Take Off With Us – Sandahl Bergman & Chorus
05. Vivaldi Concert In G (Instrumental) – Ralph Burns
06. Ponte Vecchio (Instrumental) – Ralph Burns
07. Everything Old Is New Again – Peter Allen
08. South Mt Sinai Parade (Instrumental) – Ralph Burns
09. After You’ve Gone – Leland Palmer
10. There’ll Be Some Changes Made – Ann Reinking
11. Who’s Sorry Now – Chorus
12. Some Of These Days – Erzsebet Foldi
13. Going Home Now (Instrumental) – Ralph Burns
14. Bye Bye Love – Ben Vereen & Roy Scheider

ALL THAT JAZZ – Trailer – (1979) HQ

One of the most audacious Hollywood films of the late 1970s was All That Jazz, Bob Fosse’s semi-autobiographical tale of a self-destructive director/choreographer trying to outrun his demons and his mortality as he struggles to keep his topsy-turvy life together. It combined musical theater and Fellini-esque flights of fancy to hypnotic effect, employing a wide range of musical styles and compositions in the process. A choice selection of the music used in the film is distilled on the All That Jazz soundtrack, which divides its time between jazzy pop classics («Everything Old Is New Again» by Peter Allen, George Benson’s cover of «On Broadway») and a combination of originals and re-arranged classics handled by composer/arranger Ralph Burns. The jazzy pop songs make for fun listening, but the true highlights are the tracks handled by Burns: his work on the album covers everything from classical music («Vivaldi Concert In G») to easy listening («Ponte Vecchio») to showtune-styled originals («Take Off With Us»). However, Burn’s true tour de force is a bombastic re-imagining of the Everly Brothers classic «Bye Bye Love»: in his hands, it becomes an epic, rock opera-styled duet between Ben Vereen and Roy Scheider, whose kitchen-sink arrangement includes jazz saxophone, orchestral strings, and wailing electric guitar. Simply put, it must be heard to be believed. The only problem with All That Jazz is that its eclecticism and one-of-a-kind style of showbiz bombast ensure that it will only appeal to fans of the film. Also, the soundtrack lacks a few of the songs featured in the film: the most notable exception is Harry Nilsson’s «Perfect Day,» a lushly-orchestrated pop classic that was memorably used during one of the film’s romantic scenes. Despite these minor problems, All That Jazz remains a fine musical portrait of its parent film and a necessity for anyone who enjoyed it. ~ Donald A. Guarisco
1995 reissue of the soundtrack to director Bob Fosse’sacclaimed 1979 musical co-starring Roy Scheider and JessicaLange. Ralph Burns arranged & conducted all 14 tracks, whichinclude performances by George Benson, Sandahl Bergman andBen Vereen with Scheider. A Spectrum/ Karussell release.
Recording information: 1979.
Arranger: Ralph Burns.