Category Archives: Pop

Simon & Garfunkel’s Greatest Hits

Album: king of the tenors
Label: Columbia
Format: MP3@320 kbps
Sound Quality: FULL
Size: 98,6 MB

Time 43:25

Type: Album
Country: USA
Release Date: 1972
Genre: FOLK, POP
Simon and Garfunkel’s Greatest Hits is the first compilation album from Simon & Garfunkel, released on June 14, 1972 two years after the duo disbanded. The album was a unique mix of original studio recordings and four previously unreleased live recordings. The album’s minimalist packaging does not specifically date the latter, however, the live versions of «For Emily, Whenever I May Find Her» and «Kathy’s Song» included on Greatest Hits were also included on the 2008 album Live 1969.
The liner notes to Live 1969 state that these two songs were both recorded at a November 1969 concert in St. Louis, Missouri. In a 1975 BBC Radio 1 interview, Roy Halee identified this version of «The 59th Street Bridge Song» as being from Simon & Garfunkel’s 1970 performance at Carnegie Hall, «the last concert they did together.» The version of «Kathy’s Song» was taken from a 1968 concert in Vermont, according to the liner notes from Collected Works.
The remaining ten studio songs comprise nine singles released between 1965 and 1972, «America» being issued as a single several years after its appearance as a track on the Bookends album, and one album track, «Bookends» (without its parent song «Old Friends»).
All but «America» and «Scarborough Fair/Canticle» made the Top Ten, with the latter peaking at #11, and «Mrs. Robinson» topped the chart aided by its appearance in Mike Nichols’ hit movie The Graduate. «The Sound of Silence» and «Bridge over Troubled Water» both peaked at #1 as singles in their studio versions, and «The Boxer» peaked as a single at #7.
Simon and Garfunkel’s Greatest Hits peaked on the U.S. albums chart at #5. On the UK Album Chart, it was a #2 hit. Regardless of initial placements, the album has proven a long and durable seller, currently being certified for 14 million units sold in the U.S. alone. As such it is easily their best-selling album ever in the U.S., and indeed holds the record in the U.S. for the best-selling album ever by a duo.
Track listing
1. Mrs. Robinson
2. For Emily, Whenever I May Find Her
3. The Boxer
4. The 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin’ Groovy)
5. The Sound of Silence
6. I Am a Rock
7. Scarborough Fair/Canticle – Simon & Garfunkel, Simon, P.
8. Homeward Bound
9. Bridge Over Troubled Water
10. America
11. Kathy’s Song
12. El Condor Pasa (If I Could) – Simon & Garfunkel, Simon, P.
13. Bookends Theme
14. Cecilia
In 2003, the album was ranked number 293 on Rolling Stone magazine’s list of the 500 greatest albums of all time.
293/500 : Released in the wake of a brief reunion for a George McGovern campaign benefit concert in 1972, Greatest Hits combines big Simon and Garfunkel hits and live tracks, and summarizes nearly everything great about the duo: intimate harmonizing, observant lyrics, innovative arrangements and singular tunes.
Rolling Stone MUSIC


Artist: Dire Straits
Album: Brothers In Arms (20th Anniversary Edition)
Label: Warner Bros. Records
Catalogue #: 49377-2
Format: MP3@320 kbps
Sound Quality: HIGH
Size: 124,13 MB
Type: Album
Country: USA
Release Date: 2005
Original Release Date: 1985
Language: English
Time: 55:13
Genre: Pop/Rock
Styles: Classic Rock, Rock & Roll, Album Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock
Album Review:
Brothers in Arms is the fifth studio album by the British rock band Dire Straits, released in 1985. The first half of the album is a development of their unique brand of arena rock which had evolved in their music since the 1980 album Making Movies, while the second half consists of more folk-influenced material. The whole album maintains the original Dire Straits’ bluesy and laid back guitar-based sound whilst retaining a more lavish and bombastic production and overall sound. It is the band’s best-selling album, and one of the top 10 best-selling albums in UK music history.
Brothers in Arms was one of the first albums to be directed at the CD market, and was a full digital recording (DDD) at a time when most popular music was recorded on analog equipment. It was also released on vinyl and cassette.
Brothers in Arms was the first album to sell one million copies in the CD format and to outsell its LP version. A Rykodisc employee would subsequently write, «[In 1985 we] were fighting to get our CDs manufactured because the entire worldwide manufacturing capacity was overwhelmed by demand for a single rock title (Dire Straits’ Brothers in Arms).»
It was remastered and released with the rest of the Dire Straits catalogue in 1996 for most of the world outside the United States and on September 19, 2000 in the United States. It was also released in XRCD2 format in 2000, then the 20th Anniversary Edition was issued in Super Audio CD format on July 26, 2005 (becoming the 3000th title for the SACD format) and DualDisc format with DVD-Audio 24 bit/96 kHz track on August 16, 2005, remixed in 5.1 by Chuck Ainlay and winning a Grammy for Best Surround Sound Album.
In 2006, a half-speed-mastered vinyl version of the album was issued. Mastered by the renowned Stan Ricker, this version puts the full-length songs on vinyl for the first time. In order to do this, the album spans four sides on two 33 1/3 rpm discs.
All songs written by Mark Knopfler, except where indicated.
Track listing
1. So Far Away – 5:11
2. Money for Nothing (Knopfler, Sting) – 8:27
3. Walk of Life – 4:12
4. Your Latest Trick – 6:34
5. Why Worry – 8:31
6. Ride Across the River – 6:58
7. The Man’s Too Strong – 4:40
8. One World – 3:40
9. Brothers in Arms – 7:00
Band Personnel
* Mark Knopfler: guitars, vocals
* John Illsley: bass, vocals
* Alan Clark: keyboards
* Guy Fletcher: keyboards, vocals
* Terry Williams: drums
Additional Personnel
* Omar Hakim: drums
* Jack Sonni: guitar
* Michael Brecker: saxophone
* Randy Brecker: horn
* Malcolm Duncan: tenor saxophone
* Neil Jason: bass
* Tony Levin: bass
* Jimmy Maelen: percussion
* Michael Mainieri: background vocals
* Dave Plews: horn
* Sting: vocals on «Money for Nothing»

VA – The Dali CD, Vol.2 : In Admiration of Music (2009)

Artist: VA
Title Of Album: The Dali CD, Vol.2: In Admiration of Music
Year Of Release: 2009
Label: Universal
Genre: Jazz, Pop, Rock. Electronic
Format: mp3  
Quality:  256kbps  
Total Time: 1 h 15 min 48 sec
Total Size: 137,3 mb
Fever – Elvis Presley

1. Tears Of Joy – Antonio Forcione
2. In Your Wild Garden – Josefine Cronholm
3. Hedonism (Just Because You Feel Good) – Skunk Anansie
4. Set Them Free – Caecillie Norby
5. Take Five – Dave Brubeck Quartet
6. Train Song – Holly Cole
7. The Gates of Istanbul – Loreena McKennitt
8. Breaking Silence – Janis Ian
9. Fever – Elvis Presley
10. Spanish Harlem – The Willy DeVille Acoustic Trio
11. Angel – Sabia
12. Samb-Adagio – Safri Duo
13. I Will Remember – Toto
14. Heart – Bo Stief Dream Machine
15. You and I (Trentemoller remix) – Filur feat. Pernille RosendahlThe DALI CD

At DALI we are driven by raw enthusiasm and optimism on a never-ending journey to satisfy our audiophile ideas of what a good loudspeaker is.

The same with this CD – we have selected these tracks in various musical styles to enable you to enjoy the full potential of your DALI speakers. Great recordings from great musicians on speakers made in admiration of music.

When we write «IN ADMIRATION OF MUSIC» it is much more than a nice sounding motto. It is the very foundation on which we develop and produce loudspeakers.

We love music.
We love sound.
We strive for the ultimate in sound reproduction in every DALI product and on this CD.